MVSS 2021: Midwestern Vascular unveils 2021–22 leadership changes

Raghu Motaganahalli speaks from the MVSS annual meeting 2021 podium

The Midwestern Vascular Surgical Society (MVSS) announced a new slate of officers at its 2021 annual meeting held in Chicago from Sept. 9–11. Raghu Motaganahalli, MD, officially assumed the reins as MVSS president for 2021–22, taking over from Kellie Brown, MD, who led the society for a two-year term following the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The new officers—and councilor—were unveiled Friday afternoon at the MVSS business meeting. In addition to Motaganahalli, chief of vascular surgery at Indiana University, Jeffrey Jim, MD, chair of vascular and endovascular surgery at Abbott Northwestern Hospital in Minneapolis, was named president-elect after completing his term as MVSS secretary. Ross Milner, MD, professor of surgery in the section of vascular surgery at the University of Chicago, was elected as the new secretary for a three-year term. Bernadette Aulivola, MD, professor and chief of vascular surgery and endovascular therapy at Loyola University in Maywood, Illinois, continues as treasurer.

Dawn M. Coleman, MD, associate professor of surgery at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, Michigan, was elected as a new councilor of the society, joining incumbents Patrick Muck, MD, vascular surgery program director at TriHealth Good Samaritan Hospital in Cincinnati, Ohio, and Michael Go, MD, associate professor of surgery at The Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio.

Meanwhile, the MVSS meeting also heard from Jerome M. Adams, MD, the 20th surgeon general of the U.S., on the final day of the meeting Saturday morning. As the society’s honorary guest lecturer Adams—who served under President Donald Trump—covered a range of topics, including the COVID-19 pandemic as well as the opioid crisis in the U.S. and the role of vascular surgeons might play in tackling the problem.

At the outset of his lecture, Adams invited Coleman to the podium to honor the serving U.S. Army Reserve lieutenant colonel for her service, acknowledging the occasion of the 20th anniversary of the 9/11 terrorist attacks on the U.S.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here