SVS Foundation announces 2023 student fellowship awards


The Society for Vascular Surgery (SVS) Foundation has announced the winners of the 2023 Student Research Fellowship Awards.

The award is for undergraduate college and medical school students registered at universities in the United States and Canada. Its intent is to introduce the student to the application of rigorous scientific methods to clinical problems and underlying biologic processes important to patients with vascular disease.

Michelle Bach, University of Texas at Austin Dell Medical School
Sponsor: Pedro Teixeira, MD
Project Title: “Amplify amputees: Health literacy and patient reported outcomes and clinical outcomes in non-traumatic major lower limb amputees”

Christian Barksdale, Medical University of South Carolina
Sponsor: Jean Marie Ruddy, MD
Project Title: “Defining the mechanosensitive threshold of serum and glucocorticoid inducible kinase-1 (SGK-1) in the murine abdominal aorta”

Nitishkumar Bhatt, Toronto General Hospital, University Health Network
Sponsor: Kathryn Howe, MD
Project Title: “Automated and interpretable deep learning for carotid plaque analysis using ultrasound”

Emely Tatiana Carmona, University of Pittsburgh
Sponsor: Nathan L. Liang, MD
Project Title: “Association between patient neighborhood deprivation index, long-term mortality outcomes, and loss to long-term follow-up after an elective abdominal aortic aneurism repair”

Haley Cirka, University of Massachusetts Chan Medical School
Sponsor: Tammy Nguyen, MD
Project Title: “The effect of type-2 diabetes on macrophage differentiation in non-healing diabetic foot ulcers”

Aria Harding, University of Florida College of Medicine, North Florida/ South Georgia VAMC
Sponsor: Scott T. Robinson, MD
Project Title: “The impact of e-cigarette exposure on skeletal muscle function in peripheral arterial disease”

April Huang, University of Califorinia San Francisco
Sponsor: Adam Oskowitz, MD
Project Title: “Immune cell profiling in photodynamic therapy: A novel treatment for abdominal aortic aneurysm”

Baqir Jamal Kedwai, University of Rochester Medical Center
Sponsor: Doran Mix, MD
Project Title: Determination of the Natural History of Aortic Dissection Tissue Mechanics using Non-invasive Elastography

Junsung Kim, University of Chicago
Sponsor: Luka Pocivavsek, MD
Project Title: “Using machine learning to predict post-EVAR complications from aortic shape”

Hong Quang Le, University of Virginia
Sponsor: K. Craig Kent, MD
Project Title: “The therapeutic implications of methionine restriction in post-thrombotic syndrome through attenuation of vein wall fibrosis and inflammation post-deep vein thrombosis”

Renxi Li, The George Washington University
Sponsor: Bao-Ngoc Nguyen, MD
Project Title: A comprehensive guide to the angiogenic niche during early acute skin inflammation using single-cell RNA sequencing

Max Zhu, Boston University Chobanian and Avedisian School of Medicine
Sponsor: Jeffrey J. Siracuse, MD
Project Title: “The impact of neighborhood social disadvantage on presentation and management of first-time hemodialysis access surgery patients”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here