Spotlight: SVS members in the news


Several SVS members have been making moves recently, attracting recognition in the form of awards and promotions.

Katherine Gallagher, MD, of the University of Michigan, has been elected to the National Academy of Medicine for her “innovative translational research on epigenetic regulation of immune cells during normal and pathologic tissue repair and other cardiovascular disease processes.” Gallagher chairs the Society for Vascular Surgery (SVS) Basic and Translational Research Committee and is a member of the Research Council. 

Donald Baril, MD, has been named director of the Vascular Surgery Fellowship Program in the Smidt Heart Institute at Cedars-Sinai in Los Angeles. Baril joined Cedars-Sinai in 2020. 

Two SVS members, Daniel Clair, MD, and Michael Dake, MD, have been honored with awards from the VIVA Foundation. Clair, from Vanderbilt University Medical Center, received the Leader In EndoVascular Education (LIVE). Dake, senior vice president of Health Sciences at the University of Arizona Health Sciences, received the ATLAS (A Teacher, Leader And Scholar) Award. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here