Washington Update: Task Force formed to create APMs


The SVS has begun work on creating an Alternative Payment Model for SVS members to use for reimbursement under the new Quality Payment Program. A task force has been named and an operational plan drawn up, under the supervision of the SVS Executive Committee.

An APM is one of two options physicians have for payments authorized by the Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act of 2015, which replaced the Medicare Sustainable Growth Rate. The second is the Merit-based Incentive Payment System; both became effective in 2017, with bonuses awarded/penalties imposed in 2019.

APMs need to be created by medical societies and health care organizations because of a lack of existing infrastructure. Presently, there are no APMs for vascular surgery.

The APM Task Force will work toward developing APMs for “the various diseases treated and services provided by SVS members.” An APM will provide members with the resources needed both to be successful and to ensure access to high-quality care for their patients.

In addition, SVS will explore how the Vascular Quality Initiative can be incorporated into the model to meet both the quality performance and practice capability requirements demanded of the models.

Members anticipate it will take 12 to 18 months to develop an APM.

Dr. Yazan Duwayri of the Quality and Performance Measures Committee (QPMC) chairs the APM Development Group. Other members, and the committees on which they serve, are:

QPMC: Robert Larson, MD, Patrick Ryan, MD, and Karen Woo, MD; Government Relations: Matthew Mell, MD, Reagan Quan, MD, and Megan Tracci, MD; Coding: Francesco Aiello, MD, Matthew Sideman, MD, and Robert Zwolak, MD; Clinical Practice: Mark Davies, MD, Natalia Glebova, MD, and Ying Wei Lum, MD; Community Practice: John Adams, MD, Daniel McDevitt, MD, and William Shutze, MD.

The complete operational plan is available at vsweb.org/TBD.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here