SVS announces new leadership for 2017-18


CHICAGO, Ill., June 15, 2017 – New leaders were elected at the annual business meeting June 3 of the Society for Vascular Surgery during the organization’s annual meeting in San Diego, Calif. They are:

Dr. Darling

Dr. R. Clement Darling III, president. Dr. Darling, who served as president-elect during the past year, has been active in the leadership of the society for more than 26 years, serving on numerous SVS committees, on the board of directors and on the executive committee. Dr. Darling is president of The Vascular Group, Albany, N.Y.; director of The Institute for Vascular Health and Disease and chief of the Division of Vascular Surgery at Albany Medical Center Hospital. He also is a professor of surgery at Albany Medical College.

Dr. Makaroun

Dr. Michel S. Makaroun, president-elect. Dr Makaroun served as SVS vice president during the past year. He has been active in the SVS since 1997 and served as secretary from 2013-2016. He is a Distinguished Fellow of the SVS and is a professor of surgery and of clinical and translational science at the University of Pittsburgh in Pittsburgh, Pa.

Dr. Hodgson

Dr. Kim J. Hodgson, vice president. Dr. Hodgson previously has served three terms as treasurer for the SVS as well as on several committees and the SVS board of directors. He was the inaugural editor of the Vascular Education and Self-Assessment Program (VESAP) and continued in that role for two more editions. He is chair of the division of vascular surgery at Southern Illinois University School of Medicine in Springfield, Ill., where he holds the David Sumner endowed chair in Vascular and Endovascular Surgery, and has served for six years on the Vascular Surgery Board.

Dr. Fairman

Dr. Ronald Fairman, chair, SVS Foundation. Dr. Fairman, now immediate past president of the SVS, has moved over to his new role as chair of the SVS Foundation. Dr. Fairman will oversee the foundation’s competitive, peer-reviewed, grant-making initiatives, which are made possible by contributions from members, medical societies and corporations. Dr. Fairman is chief of vascular surgery and endovascular therapy at the University of Pennsylvania’s Penn Medicine, in Philadelphia. He has a dual faculty appointment, as Clyde F. Barker – William Maul Measey professor of surgery and professor of radiology.

Dr. Money

Dr. Samuel R. Money, treasurer. Dr. Money is a professor of surgery in the College of Medicine, Mayo Clinic, Phoenix, Ariz. In addition to being a vascular surgeon, Dr. Money holds an M.B.A. He has held leadership roles in numerous professional societies.

Dr. AbuRhama

In addition, Dr. Ali AbuRahma will continue as the Society secretary. Dr. AbuRahma is a professor of surgery, chief of vascular and endovascular surgery and director of the vascular surgery fellowship and integrated residency programs at West Virginia University, Charleston, W.Va. He also serves as the medical director of the vascular laboratory and co-director of the Vascular Center of Excellence at Charleston Area Medical Center. In addition to his role as secretary, Dr. AbuRahma has served on the SVS board of directors, the Foundation board and several other committees.

As part of the changing of the guard, the SVS Appointments Committee also has welcomed dozens of new members to the Society’s councils and committees.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here