Annual Business Meeting, for Members Only


Electing Secretary, Welcoming President, Presenting Awards

The SVS Annual Business Meeting serves a vital, mandated function, with members conducting important Society business. This year, not only will President Michel S. Makaroun, MD, hands his gavel over to President-Elect Kim Hodgson, MD, members also will elect a new secretary from among three candidates and will affirm the Nominating Committee’s selection of the candidate for vice president.

The meeting is from 12 to 1:30 p.m. Saturday, in Potomac C. Members also will receive updates from officers and select committees and recognize outstanding achievements and awards from the Journal of Vascular Surgery, SVS Foundation, and SVS.

Only Active and Senior members may vote, which will be accomplished with Audience Response System devices. Staff will be on hand to double-check membership status for those unsure of their voting status.

The following people will receive awards during the luncheon:

SVS Presidential Citation Award: Marie Rossi, RN, BS, for her leadership of the Society for Vascular Nursing and tireless work in achieving a close relationship between the SVN and the SVS; Benjamin Pearce, MD, and Tej Singh, MD, for their dedication to improve and upgrade SVS patient education materials; Sean P. Roddy, MD and Matthew Sideman, MD, for their tireless work in advocating for and protecting the interests of our specialty; Michael S. Conte, MD, John White, MD, and Joe L. Mills, MD, for their dedicated effort to complete the Global Vascular Guidelines Project; and Dawn M. Coleman, MD, and Malachi G. Sheahan III, MD, for their dedication to improving the well-being of our members and all vascular surgeons.

SVS Awards

Women’s Leadership Training Grants: Rachel Danczyk, MD, Lori Pounds, MD, and Jessica Simons, MD.
SVS Vascular Surgery Trainee Advocacy Travel Scholarship: Ian Schlieder, MD.

SVS Foundation Awards

SVS Foundation and American College of Surgeons Mentored Clinical Scientist Research Career Development Award (K08): Jean Marie Ruddy, MD.
SVS Foundation and ACS Mentored Patient-Oriented Research Career Development Award (K23): Misty D. Humphries, MD.
Bridge Grant: Wei Zhou, MD.
E.J. Wylie Traveling Fellowship: Douglas W. Jones, MD.
Clinical Research Seed Grant: Sikandar Khan, MD, Shirling Tsai, MD; and Efthymios Avgerinos, MD (winner of the Seed Grant Challenge Wednesday at VAM).
Resident Research Award: Frank Davis, MD.
Research Career Development Travel Award: Young Erben, MD, and Claire Griffin, MD.
Vascular Cures/SVS Foundation Wylie Scholar Award: Andrea Obi, MD.
Community Awareness and Prevention Project Practice Grant: Soma Brahmanandam MD, Leigh Ann O’Banion, MD, and Uwe Fisher, PhD.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here